About Us


News Room

Policy cancellation moratorium in effect for many Illinois counties


Bookmark and Share

A policy cancellation moratorium is in effect for all insureds in the following Illinois counties: Champaign, Douglas, Fayette, Grundy, Jasper, LaSalle, Massac, Pope, Tazewell, Vermilion, Wabash, Washington, Wayne, Will and Woodford. The moratorium is in effect as of November 10, 2013, until January 11, 2013, unless the date is extended by the Illinois governor.

Due to the recent tornadoes and severe storms that occurred on November 17, 2013 that have resulted in several Illinois counties being designated as a disaster areas by State Executive Order or by Presidential declaration, the Illinois Department of Insurance is asking all insurance companies to comply with Bulletin 2013-18. This bulletin was released to help insurance companies implement the Executive Order.

In response to Insurance Bulletin 2013-18, State Auto is suspending policy cancellations and non-renewals attributed directly as a result of the disaster event during the 60 day period.

Policyholders should be advised that the moratorium is not a waiver; it is only an extension of the grace period in which a policy non-renews or cancels. Once the Executive Order is lifted, we will resume normal cancellation and non-renewal procedures.

If you have any questions concerning this bulletin, please contact your business insurance, personal insurance or farm insurance underwriter.  Billing and payment questions should be directed to Payment Services at 800-444-9950, ext. 5118.

If you need assistance of the governmental agency that regulates insurance, or have a disaster related complaint you have been unable to resolve, you may contact the Illinois Department of Insurance at the Department’s toll free complaint hotline at 1-800-455-5364 or file a complaint online.

    Copyright © 2016 State Auto Insurance Companies. All rights reserved.